Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Should Inner City Detroit just be demolished?

This city is horrific. The houses are in shambles and not on takes care of the house they live in. I don't even think these houses are even up to code. People literally have tarps covering their roofs and burnt down houses next door. The people who live there are thieves and criminals. I was down there in the Summer of 2010. Repairing a private school(JOY PREP) because the stone above ALL the windows was about to fall down and kill the kids on recess. The building was about 45-50 feet high so we had to bring in hydro mobil scaffolding. While trying to repair the school i encountered terrible people. One man tried to collect money for a lunch to serve to us and proceeded to collect they money saying he was with the school and even had an ID Card. Well as you guessed he took the money and never returned. The school was in a neighborhood and right across the street two men would just sit on the porch doing nothing but drink 40's and smoke weed(sometimes while the kids were at recess) They stole from out brick pile and stole our mortar also. We had to lock up our JCB skylift and our mixer because i knew they would steal that too. These people also stole our stiff arms and safety equipment for the scaffold for scrap. Everyday someone would ask me for a cigarette or money. I could't even go to the gas station without worrying about my truck being raided. No one works down there they just usually wake up around 1pm and drive around in beat up truck to steal metal for scrap. I mean come on no one will try to improve the city because it is dangerous and high risk. I was just trying to make an elementary school look good in the neighborhood and for my effort was robbed. I think i met one or two genuine people in the neighborhood and i feel bad that they have to live around these people. The kids at recess would just swear at me and beat each other up while on recess. The teachers didn't even care what they did. So I'm guessing the future isn't looking to bright either. I mean 10 year old kids were calling me a "Honkey" LOL. What a joke eh? These people tie pitbulls to their meters so the meter man can't read them. They live houses that were beautiful at one time and just let the houses fall apart. It's sad. HOW DO WE FIX THIS PROBLEM?

No comments:

Post a Comment